Simon Pyke and James Buttery
AI Music Videos

The album First Minds is released 18 October 2023.
Listen on Spotify/Bandcamp/Apple Music


We created a series of AI music videos for the debut tracks by our longtime sound designer Simon Pyke (AKA Freefarm) and singer James Buttery (formerly of Darkstar).

Our atmospheric, typographic videos visualise the lyrics and respond to the theme, textures and sound of each track.

To generate the visual, we developed a custom system that combines traditional animation techniques with modern, generative AI. We challenged ourselves to create novel, generative images with a sense of surprise that also maintained a certain degree of legibility as typography.

Track 1:

Track 2:
Little Britain

Track 3:
Those Words

Typography tests:


Music: Simon Pyke and James Buttery
Creative Director: Matt Pyke
AI Coding and Creative Technologist: Chris Mullany
Studio Manager: Simon Thompson